loading...

What Alice Forgot

Paperback $14.99
Buy
What Alice Forgot

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781743535493
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pub Date: 01/01/2015
  • Category: Fiction & related items / General
    Fiction & related items / Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
  • Imprint: Pan Australia
  • Pages: 432
  • Price: $14.99

From the no. 1 New York Times bestselling author of The Husband's Secret and Big Little Lies

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE FROM THE DIRECTOR OF THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA

"Funny and knowing... [about] what we choose to remember, and fight to forget." O magazine

When Alice Love surfaces from a beautiful dream to find she's been injured in a gym, she knows that something is very wrong - she hates exercise. Alice's first concern is her baby, she's pregnant with her first child, and she's desperate to see her husband, Nick, who she knows will be worried about her.

But Alice isn't pregnant. And Nick isn't worried. Alice is the mother of three children and her hostile husband is in the process of divorcing her. Alice has lost ten years of her life.

Alice's sister Elisabeth, who seems uncharacteristically cold, drives her home from the hospital. And home is totally unrecognisable, as is the rest of her life. Who is this Gina that everyone is carefully trying not to mention? Why does her mother look like she's wearing fancy dress? And what's all this talk about a giant lemon meringue pie?

In the days that follow, small bubbles of the past rise to the surface, and Alice is forced to confront uncomfortable truths. It turns out forgetting might be the most memorable thing that's ever happened to her.

PRAISE FOR WHAT ALICE FORGOT

"What [Moriarty] writes are acute social comedies of the feminine, where the domestic is more political than cosy... bravura depiction. Great stuff" The Age

"The affecting tale of Alice's chance for a ten-year do-over." The New York Times

"A bittersweet tale by a gifted writer" Women's Weekly

Fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Paula Hawkins will love Liane Moriarty.

Author Information

Liane Moriarty is the author of seven bestselling novels, Three Wishes, The Last Anniversary, What Alice Forgot, The Hypnotist's Love Story, The Husband's Secret, Big Little Lies and Truly Madly Guilty. Her books have been read by more than six million people worldwide, including one million in Australia.

The Husband's Secret was a number one New York Times bestseller. It has been translated into more than thirty-five languages and film rights have been acquired by CBS Films. Big Little Lies and Truly Madly Guilty reached number one on the New York Times bestseller list in their first week of publication - the first time this has been achieved by an Australian author. They were also number one bestsellers in Australia and Big Little Lies has been adapted for television by HBO, starring Nicole Kidman and Reese Witherspoon, who have both also optioned the film rights to Truly Madly Guilty.

Writing as L.M. Moriarty, she is also the author of the Space Brigade series for children.

Liane lives in Sydney with her husband, son and daughter.

You can find out more about Liane's books at her website www.lianemoriarty.com