loading...

The Things We Keep

Trade Paperback $29.99
Buy
The Things We Keep

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781743535752
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pub Date: 22/12/2015
  • Category: Fiction & related items / Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
    Fiction & related items / General
    Medicine / Alzheimer’s & dementia
  • Imprint: Macmillan Australia
  • Pages: 352
  • Price: $29.99

A novel of love undaunted by obstacles, from the bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives.

"You'll shed a few tears as the women try to forge a new life, despite the fact that they can't, or won't, remember the past. One for long afternoons." Sydney Morning Herald

Rosalind House might not be the first place you'd expect to find new love and renewal, but within the walls of this assisted living facility two women have their lives changed forever.

Anna Forster, in the early stages of Alzheimer's disease at only thirty-eight years of age, knows that her twin, Jack, has chosen Rosalind House because another young resident, Luke, lives there. As if, Anna muses, a little companionship will soften the unfairness of her fate.

Eve Bennett also comes to Rosalind house reluctantly. Once a pampered, wealthy wife, she is now cooking and cleaning to make ends meet.

Both women are facing futures they didn't expect. With only unreliable memories to guide them, they have no choice but to lean on and trust something more powerful. Something closer to the heart.

PRAISE FOR THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES

"This is women's fiction at its finest ... a wonderfully satisfying story ... touching, tender, and meticulously researched" Liane Moriarty, author of Big Little Lies

"Enchanting ... Hepworth's skilful storytelling means past and present flow seamlessly ... it's easy to lose yourself in the lives of the three, strong female protagonists." Daily Telegraph

"Fans of Call the Midwife and One Born Every Minute will relish Hepworth's debut novel about three generations of midwives" Who Magazine

Author Information

Sally Hepworth has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the UK, and Canada, where she worked in event management and human resources. She is the author of The Secrets of Midwives, published by Pan Macmillan in February 2015.

Sally lives in Melbourne with her husband and two children.