loading...

Fleur-de-lis

eBook $4.99
Buy
Fleur-de-lis

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781760301903
  • Format: eBook
  • Pub Date: 28/04/2016
  • Category: Fiction & related items / Historical romance
    Fiction & related items / Historical fiction
    Fiction & related items / Romance
  • Imprint: Momentum
  • Price: $4.99

Fleur's life depends upon her outwitting the man she is drawn to above all others.

France 1793. After the dispersal of her family in the bloody upheaval of the French Revolution, Fleur de Montbulliou, a beautiful young aristocrat, is forced into hiding. While she is living a hand-to-mouth existence in the countryside, her chance encounter with a mysterious stranger results in a marriage proposal.

Determined to survive, Fleur weds a dying man she hardly knows and assumes a new identity as the widow of Matthieu Bosanquet, a prosperous merchant from the city. And so she is swept into the very heart of Paris, a place as treacherous as it is exciting. As the widow Bosanquet and in a further disguise as the provocative actress La Coquette, she is adored and feted by the deputies of the Revolution, and plays a hazardous game of double deception. However, to preserve her precious freedom, she must outwit one particular man - the cool, intelligent deputy Raoul de Villaret.

As political unrest plunges Paris yet more deeply into chaos, Fleur will be forced to take ever greater risks. In a glittering, dangerous world where anything might happen, can love survive?

Perfect for fans of Katherine McMahon and Baroness Orczy's The Scarlet Pimpernel.



"This outstanding novel cements (Isolde Martyn's) reputation for exceptional romantic historical fiction." - Margaret Barr, The Historical Novels Review

Author Information

Maybe it was a visit to the Tower of London as a child but by the time she was a teenager, Isolde wanted to write historicals. That meant a history honours degree and a specialisation in the Wars of the Roses, her favourite era. Having enjoyed a career in academia and book editing, she is now the author of seven published novels, mostly about real historical figures.



Her first novel won the Rita Award for 'Best First Novel' in the USA and her first two books won the 'Romantic Book of the Year Award' in Australia. Having met a rather nice geologist at a bus stop many years ago, she now lives in Sydney. As co-founder and Vice-Chairperson of the Plantagenet Society of Australia and a former Chairperson of the New South Wales Branch of the Richard III Society, she continues to enjoy promoting her great love of history.



You can visit Isolde at /www.isoldemartyn.com/