loading...

The Knight and the Rose

eBook $4.99
Buy
The Knight and the Rose

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781760301941
  • Format: eBook
  • Pub Date: 28/04/2016
  • Category: Fiction & related items / Historical romance
    Fiction & related items / Historical fiction
    Fiction & related items / Romance
  • Imprint: Momentum
  • Price: $4.99

He was meant to be her saviour. Instead Johanna finds herself snared in a web of deceit with a handsome, mysterious stranger.



Lady Johanna FitzHenry is desperate. Trapped in a violent marriage, when the opportunity comes to travel home to farewell her dying father, she seizes it, determined not to return. Even if that means throwing herself from the turrets. But her mother has another plan for her: if a stranger can be found who is willing to swear before a court that Johanna was secretly wed to him before her match to the abusive Fulk, she will be set free.



Geraint, fleeing bounty hunters after the Battle of Boroughbridge, as well as many demons of his own, is made an offer he can't refuse. Pose as Johanna's long-lost love or he and his badly wounded companion will be handed over to the king and hanged as traitors. He is not a free man, however much he might be intrigued by the hellcat he finds himself bound to.



Johanna has nothing but contempt for this mercenary husband of hers. Yet, as they are forced together again and again, she finds herself falling for the promise of a life that could have been hers. Falling for the man who is opening her eyes to a world where fear doesn't follow her every footstep.



Inspired by a medieval court case, the award winning The Knight and the Rose weaves fact and fiction into a vibrant tapestry of love, political intrigue and outrageous deception.



Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Diana Gabaldon and Alison Weir.



"A lovely medieval, rich as a stained-glass window" – Jo Beverley, New York Times bestselling author.



Winner of the Romance Writers of Australia Romantic Book of the Year Award 2001

Author Information

Maybe it was a visit to the Tower of London as a child but by the time she was a teenager, Isolde wanted to write historicals. That meant a history honours degree and a specialisation in the Wars of the Roses, her favourite era. Having enjoyed a career in academia and book editing, she is now the author of seven published novels, mostly about real historical figures.



Her first novel won the Rita Award for 'Best First Novel' in the USA and her first two books won the 'Romantic Book of the Year Award' in Australia. Having met a rather nice geologist at a bus stop many years ago, she now lives in Sydney. As co-founder and Vice-Chairperson of the Plantagenet Society of Australia and a former Chairperson of the New South Wales Branch of the Richard III Society, she continues to enjoy promoting her great love of history.



You can visit Isolde at /www.isoldemartyn.com/