Advanced Search

Trip of a Lifetime

by Liz Byrski

Paperback $19.99

$19.99

Trip of a Lifetime

by Liz Byrski

Paperback $19.99

$19.99

$19.99

"[Byrski] has gained an enormous following of women hungry for stories that reflect their lives" Australian Women's Weekly Book of the Month

From the bestselling author of A Month of Sundays, with new novel At the End of the Day out now.

When Heather Delaney is injured in a shocking act of violence, her life is thrown off course. Struggling to return to work, she is haunted by the incident. Was it random or personal? Will they try again?

Heather is not the only one who is rocked by the attack. Her brother, Adam, and his second wife, Jill, already juggling the demands of work and pre-teen children, find their marriage is straining at the seams. Adam disappears into his music while Jill attempts to keep all the balls in the air. Shaun, Heather's offsider, young, loyal and ambitious, questions his relationship; Diane, an office volunteer, can't stop the bitterness pouring out after a mid-life divorce; and Heather's aunt, Barbara, is about to have her peaceful rural retirement disrupted by conflicting loyalties.

Then along comes Heather's old flame, Ellis. Romantic, flamboyant, determined to recapture the past and take control of the future, he seems to have all the answers. But can it really be that easy?

PRAISE FOR LIZ BYRSKI

"Her plots and characters get stronger with each book" The Sydney Morning Herald

"Liz Byrski has a guaranteed cheer squad for her novels which champion...women taking charge of their life and growing old creatively" Daily Telegraph

Fans of Monica McInerney, Liane Moriarty and Joanna Trollope will love Liz Byrski.

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781743516935
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pub Date: 01/04/2014
  • Category: Fiction & related items / Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
  • Imprint: Pan Australia
  • Pages: 352
  • Price: $19.99

"[Byrski] has gained an enormous following of women hungry for stories that reflect their lives" Australian Women's Weekly Book of the Month

From the bestselling author of A Month of Sundays, with new novel At the End of the Day out now.

When Heather Delaney is injured in a shocking act of violence, her life is thrown off course. Struggling to return to work, she is haunted by the incident. Was it random or personal? Will they try again?

Heather is not the only one who is rocked by the attack. Her brother, Adam, and his second wife, Jill, already juggling the demands of work and pre-teen children, find their marriage is straining at the seams. Adam disappears into his music while Jill attempts to keep all the balls in the air. Shaun, Heather's offsider, young, loyal and ambitious, questions his relationship; Diane, an office volunteer, can't stop the bitterness pouring out after a mid-life divorce; and Heather's aunt, Barbara, is about to have her peaceful rural retirement disrupted by conflicting loyalties.

Then along comes Heather's old flame, Ellis. Romantic, flamboyant, determined to recapture the past and take control of the future, he seems to have all the answers. But can it really be that easy?

PRAISE FOR LIZ BYRSKI

"Her plots and characters get stronger with each book" The Sydney Morning Herald

"Liz Byrski has a guaranteed cheer squad for her novels which champion...women taking charge of their life and growing old creatively" Daily Telegraph

Fans of Monica McInerney, Liane Moriarty and Joanna Trollope will love Liz Byrski.

Author Information

Liz Byrski is the author of seven novels and a number of non-fiction books, the latest of which is Getting On: Some Thoughts on Women and Ageing.

She has worked as a freelance journalist, a broadcaster with ABC Radio and an advisor to a minister in the West Australian Government.

Liz has a PhD in writing from Curtin University where she teaches professional and creative writing.

BUY THE BOOK

  • Booktopia
  • Dymocks
  • Readings
  • QBD Books
  • The Nile
  • Find a bookshop
  • Amazon
  • Big W
  • Harry Hartog
  • Pan Macmillan

AUTHOR EVENTS

18 June 2022

We all get older (or at least we aim to), but what does that mean in terms of working and living? What does it mean in terms of taboo topics and societal expectations? Can we still contribute across all types of work environments? When does ageism begin? What does it mean for artists and authors? Do older people really have sex?! Join us for a frank and honest discussion about aging in today's world, staying visible and being heard.

3:00 PM

State Library of Western Australia
Perth Cultural Centre 25 Francis Street Perth WA 6000 Website



SEE MORE EVENTS>