Advanced Search

$17.99

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Good Sister and The Family Next Door with new novel The Younger Wife out now.

"Hepworth turns up the tension in her latest Australian-set domestic suspense novel. A masterful depiction... makes this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott" Booklist (starred review)

Someone once told me that you have two families in your life - the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don't choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all.

From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, but Lucy knew, even after marrying Oliver, that they'd never have the closeness she'd been hoping for.

But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something...

From the bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives, with new novel The Good Sister out now.

PRAISE FOR THE MOTHER-IN-LAW

"Readers will race to the end of this clever novel to find the truth." Publishers Weekly

"We devoured it in just one sitting. Bet you will too!" Women's Day

"The Mother-in-Law is indeed twisty and suspenseful, but even more than that, it's clever and nuanced." Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of Me Without You

"Absolutely stunning. The Mother-in-Law has so many layers - I'll be thinking about it for a long time." Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight Without Silence

PRAISE FOR SALLY HEPWORTH

"Sally Hepworth writes compelling, compassionate novels with characters you come to know and love. She is one of my favourite Australian writers." Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of The Husband's Secret, Big Little Lies and Nine Perfect Strangers

"Hepworth's novels are perfect for lovers of Big Little Lies." Library journal (starred review)

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781760552183
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pub Date: 29/01/2019
  • Category: Fiction & related items / Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
    Fiction & related items / Crime & mystery
    Fiction & related items / General
  • Imprint: Macmillan Australia
  • Pages: 352
  • Price: $17.99

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Good Sister and The Family Next Door with new novel The Younger Wife out now.

"Hepworth turns up the tension in her latest Australian-set domestic suspense novel. A masterful depiction... makes this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott" Booklist (starred review)

Someone once told me that you have two families in your life - the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don't choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all.

From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, but Lucy knew, even after marrying Oliver, that they'd never have the closeness she'd been hoping for.

But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something...

From the bestselling author of The Secrets of Midwives, with new novel The Good Sister out now.

PRAISE FOR THE MOTHER-IN-LAW

"Readers will race to the end of this clever novel to find the truth." Publishers Weekly

"We devoured it in just one sitting. Bet you will too!" Women's Day

"The Mother-in-Law is indeed twisty and suspenseful, but even more than that, it's clever and nuanced." Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of Me Without You

"Absolutely stunning. The Mother-in-Law has so many layers - I'll be thinking about it for a long time." Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight Without Silence

PRAISE FOR SALLY HEPWORTH

"Sally Hepworth writes compelling, compassionate novels with characters you come to know and love. She is one of my favourite Australian writers." Liane Moriarty, bestselling author of The Husband's Secret, Big Little Lies and Nine Perfect Strangers

"Hepworth's novels are perfect for lovers of Big Little Lies." Library journal (starred review)

Author Information

Sally Hepworth is the New York Times bestselling author of six novels, most recently The Good Sister (2020), which was an instant bestseller. Her novel, The Mother-In-Law (2019) has been optioned for a TV series by Hollywood actress and
producer, Amy Poehler.

Drawing on the good, the bad and the downright odd of human behaviour, Sally writes incisively about family, relationships and identity. Her domestic thriller novels are laced with quirky humour, sass and a darkly charming tone.

Sally's novels are available worldwide in English and have been translated into 20 languages.

Sally lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband, three children and one adorable dog.

BUY THE BOOK

  • Booktopia
  • Dymocks
  • Readings
  • QBD Books
  • The Nile
  • Find a bookshop
  • Amazon
  • Big W
  • Harry Hartog