Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781760781699
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pub Date: 29/01/2019
  • Category: Fiction & related items / General
    Fiction & related items / Short stories
  • Imprint: Picador Australia
  • Pages: 336
  • Price: $29.99

A body buried in a suburban backyard.

A suicide pact worthy of Chekhov.

A love affair born in a bookshop.

The last days of Bennelong.

And a very strange gift for a most unusual Prime Minister...

Tantalising, poignant, wry, and just a little fantastical, this subversive collection of short fiction - and one singular novella - from bestselling author Debra Adelaide reminds us what twists of fate may be lurking just beneath the surface of the everyday.


'Deliciously maverick...dazzlingly original' The Age

'Comic and ironic...while at the same time serious and deeply moving' Sydney Morning Herald

Author Information

Debra Adelaide is the author or editor of more than fourteen books, including the best-selling Motherlove series (1996-98) and Acts of Dog (2003). Her novels include The Hotel Albatross (1995), Serpent Dust (1998) and the best-selling The Household Guide to Dying (2008), which was sold around the world. In 2013 she published her first collection of short stories, Letter to George Clooney, which was long- and short-listed for three literary awards. Her most recent book is the edited collection, The Simple Act of Reading (2015). She is an associate professor in creative writing at the University of Technology, Sydney.