Advanced Search

Jane Harper makes shortlist for Ned Kelly Award

August 26, 2019

Jane Harper makes shortlist for the Ned Kelly Award

Pan Macmillan is thrilled to announce that Jane Harper’s third novel, The Lost Man, has been shortlisted for the 2019 Ned Kelly Awards for Best Fiction. The Ned Kelly Awards are one of Australia’s oldest and most prestigious literary prizes. The awards are aimed at honouring Australian works of crime fiction and true crime writing. Jane is no stranger to the New Kelly Awards – her novel, The Dry, won Best First Fiction in 2017.

Jane Harper is an International bestselling fiction author of a trio of crime novels; The Dry, Force of Nature and The Lost Man. Jane is the darling of Australian crime fiction readers, finding critical and commercial success with all three of her novels. Her penultimate novel, The Dry, won the 2017 Gold ABIA for Book of the Year and additionally the 2017 Gold Dagger from the Crime Writers’ Association of the United Kingdom for Best Crime Novel of the Year.

The Lost Man follows two brothers who meet at the border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of outback Queensland. They meet at the stockman’s grave, a landmark so old, no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother. Did their brother lose hope and then walk to his death? Because if he didn’t, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects…

The winners will be announced at the 2019 Ned Kelly Awards ceremony on Friday, 6 September at the BAD Sydney Crime Writers Festival.

Tags: , , , , , , ,