Advanced Search

#MeToo wins ABDA Award for Best Designed Non-Fiction Book

August 24, 2020

#MeToo wins ABDA Award for Best Designed Non-Fiction Book

The Australian Book Designers Association (ABDA) has announced the winners of the 2020 Australian Book Design Awards in an online ceremony on Thursday 20 August.

Please join us in congratulating Debra Billson on winning the ABDA Best Designed Non-Fiction Book for her work on #MeToo: Stories from the Australian Movement.

In #MeToo a collection thirty-five contributors share their own #MeToo stories, analysis and commentary to survey the movement in an Australian context. Since October 2017, when the hashtag #MeToo went viral we’ve watched controversy erupt around Geoffrey Rush, Germaine Greer and Junot Díaz. We’ve talked about tracking the movement back via Helen Garner, Rosie Batty and Hannah Gadsby. We’ve discussed #NotAllMen, toxic masculinity and trolls. We’ve seen the #MeToo movement evolve and start to accuse itself – has it gone too far? Is it enough? What does it mean in this country? This collection resists victimhood. It resists silence. It insists on change.

Miriam Sved, Christie Nieman, Natalie Kon-yu and Maggie Scott are the editorial team behind the anthologies #METOOMothers and Others and Just Between Us.

Miriam Sved’s most recent book is A Universe of Sufficient Size and Christie Nieman’s new novel Where We Begin is out now.

Where We Begin


A Universe of Sufficient Size

Mothers and Others

As Stars Fall

Tags: ,