Advanced Search

Stimulating series for quaran-teens!

May 14, 2020

Six young adult book series to embark upon

Even if you’re not a teenager or young adult, these series will keep you entertained long into quarantine. Self-isolation is never more enjoyable than when you have something to read, after all.

The Vega Jane series by David Baldacci

Worldwide bestselling author, David Baldacci, is the master of writing books that keep you on the edge of the seat till the end of the story. The Vega Jane series is David’s offering to young adult fantasy fiction.

This fantastical awe-inspiring series follows the bold protagonist Vega Jane, a young inhabitant of Wormwood. Wormwood is a place where curiosity is discouraged and you can’t leave. Ever. Nobody. That is until Vega stumbles upon a map. One that leads to outside the city, to a mysterious world beyond that shouldn’t exist.

The Finisher is the first book in the Vega Jane series, and luckily there are three more instalments to read afterwards. Followed, in order, by The Keeper, The Width of the World and The Stars Below.

The Keeper: Vega Jane 2

The Width of the World: Vega Jane 3

The Stars Below: Vega Jane 4

The Change series by James Bradley

James Bradley is the award-winning author behind the incredible The Change Trilogy. The YA books are set in a near-distant dystopian future where the overrun earth is in the midst of a quarantine.

Starting with The Silent Invasion, follow 16-year-old Callie as she and her younger sister navigate a planet where everything, including plants and people, is infected by spores from outer space.

Continue Callie’s story in The Buried Ark as she wrestles with the ongoing changes in the alien landscape around her. Hunted, frightened and alone, Callie stumbles on a secret from her past that may hold the key to defeating the Change. Then buckle in in anticipation for the upcoming third instalment!

The Silent Invasion: The Change Trilogy 1

The Buried Ark: The Change Trilogy 2

Tomorrow, When the War Began series by John Marsden

The iconic Tomorrow series follows protagonist Ellie as she and her friends navigate a war in Australia. The group accidentally misses the start of the war as they take themselves deep into the Aussie mountain bushland that surrounds the rural town of Wirrawee. Ellie and the group learn two important lessons in the first book: how to make hard decisions and how to turn isolation/boredom into productivity. The first of these lessons is shown through the group’s hard moral decisions in Tomorrow, When the War Began.

This series is seven books long and throughout the story, Ellie learns about sacrifice, resilience and learning to live in strange circumstances. This series is fantastic escapism and a hit of nostalgia for older readers.

Tomorrow, When the War Began

The Dead of the Night: Tomorrow Series 2

The Third Day, the Frost: Tomorrow Series 3

Darkness, Be My Friend: Tomorrow Series 4

Burning for Revenge: Tomorrow Series 5

The Night is for Hunting: Tomorrow Series 6

The Other Side of Dawn: Tomorrow Series 7

The Renegades Trilogy by Marissa Meyer

The Renegades Trilogy is an action-packed YA fantasy following two teens with extraordinary powers, one a hero and one a villain. As Adrian, the hero and part of the Renegades, and Nova, an Anarchist who hates the Renegades come to terms with each other, a bigger villain is about to arise.

Follow the story starting with Renegades, Archenemies and the epic conclusion in Supanova. These highly entertaining books from the New York Times bestselling author are perfect for young lovers of superhero movies!

Renegades: Renegades Book 1

Archenemies: Renegades Book 2

Supernova: Renegades Book 3

Project Nemesis Trilogy by Brenden Reichs

This YA blockbuster series follows Min. Min has been living the same life since she was eight. Every two years, on her birthday, the same man hunts her down and murders her. Min dies and then a few hours later, wakes up unharmed on the other side of town. Nearby, Noah spends his nights plagued by nightmares of death and murder. As their town around them falls to pieces, these two teens are about to learn that the whole world can, in fact, fall apart.

Start with Nemesis and then Genesis and Chrysalis. This amazing trilogy follows the journeys of Noah and Min who will literally die for what they believe in. Over and over again…

Nemesis: Project Nemesis 1

Genesis: Project Nemesis 2

Chrysalis: Project Nemesis 3

ReMade series by Alex Scarrow

Award-winning author Alex Scarrow is a master of suspense. His YA horror series follows Leon and Grace, two teen siblings trying their best to stay alive. As a virus sweeps through the world, the siblings witness people turning to liquid before their eyes, and they run for their lives. A month after touching Earth’s atmosphere, the virus has assimilated the world’s biomass.

Unfortunately for them, the virus is just the beginning. And it isn’t even their biggest enemy. Start the series with Plague Land, and continue their journey in Plague Nation and Plague World.

Plague Land

Plague Nation

Plague World

Adam Grant novels by Tom Hoyle

Adam Grant was born in London, on the stroke of midnight at the beginning of a new millennium. This would be exciting if it weren’t for a cult that believes boys born on this date must die before they turn thirteen.

Start this exhilarating young adult series with Thirteen, where Adam will come head to head with the fanatical cult leader.

Tom Hoyle’s books are perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and The Hunger Games.

Thirteen: An Adam Grant Novel 1

Spiders: An Adam Grant Novel 2

Tags: , , ,