loading...
Advanced Search

$29.99

From one of the most inventive writers of his generation, King Zeno is a historical crime novel and a searching inquiry into man’s dreams of immortality.

New Orleans, a century ago: a city determined to reshape its destiny and, with it, the nation’s. Downtown, a new American music is born. In Storyville, prostitution is outlawed and the police retake the streets with maximum violence. In the Ninth Ward, laborers break ground on a gigantic canal that will split the city. A prosperous new age dawns. But everything is thrown into chaos by a series of murders committed by an ax-wielding maniac with a peculiar taste in music.

The ax murders scramble the fates of three people from three different corners. Detective William Bastrop is an army veteran haunted by an act of wartime cowardice. Isadore Zeno is a jazz cornetist with a dangerous side hustle. Beatrice Vizzini is the widow of a crime boss who yearns to take the family business straight. Each nurtures private dreams of worldly glory and eternal life, their ambitions carrying them into darker territory. In New Orleans, a city built on swamp, nothing stays buried long.

-For readers of Walter Mosely

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781250310347
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pub Date: 08/01/2019
  • Category: Fiction & related items / Thriller / suspense
  • Imprint: Picador US
  • Pages: 400
  • Price: $29.99

From one of the most inventive writers of his generation, King Zeno is a historical crime novel and a searching inquiry into man’s dreams of immortality.

New Orleans, a century ago: a city determined to reshape its destiny and, with it, the nation’s. Downtown, a new American music is born. In Storyville, prostitution is outlawed and the police retake the streets with maximum violence. In the Ninth Ward, laborers break ground on a gigantic canal that will split the city. A prosperous new age dawns. But everything is thrown into chaos by a series of murders committed by an ax-wielding maniac with a peculiar taste in music.

The ax murders scramble the fates of three people from three different corners. Detective William Bastrop is an army veteran haunted by an act of wartime cowardice. Isadore Zeno is a jazz cornetist with a dangerous side hustle. Beatrice Vizzini is the widow of a crime boss who yearns to take the family business straight. Each nurtures private dreams of worldly glory and eternal life, their ambitions carrying them into darker territory. In New Orleans, a city built on swamp, nothing stays buried long.

-For readers of Walter Mosely

Author Information

Nathaniel Rich is the author of two novels: Odds Against Tomorrow and The Mayor's Tongue. He is a contributing writer at The New York Times Magazine and his essays have appeared in The New York Review of Books, The Atlantic, Harper's Magazine, Rolling Stone, and The Daily Beast. He lives in New Orleans.

OTHER BOOKS BY THE AUTHOR

SEE ALL WORKS BY THE AUTHOR >