Advanced Search

Shuggie Bain: Winner of the Booker Prize 2020

by Douglas Stuart

$19.99

Shuggie Bain: Winner of the Booker Prize 2020

by Douglas Stuart

$19.99

Winner of the Booker Prize 2020

Winner of 'Book of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021
Winner of 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021

'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' - Observer


'We were bowled over by this first novel, which creates an amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' – The judges of the Booker Prize


It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves. It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no’ right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.

Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of Frank McCourt, Edward St Aubyn and Hanya Yanagihara, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781529019292
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pub Date: 27/04/2021
  • Category: Fiction & related items / Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
    Central Scotland
    C 1980 To C 1990
    Of Specific Gay Interest
  • Imprint: Picador
  • Pages: 400
  • Price: $19.99

Winner of the Booker Prize 2020

Winner of 'Book of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021
Winner of 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021

'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' - Observer


'We were bowled over by this first novel, which creates an amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' – The judges of the Booker Prize


It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves. It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no’ right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place.

Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of Frank McCourt, Edward St Aubyn and Hanya Yanagihara, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

Awards

Winner for The Man Booker Prize 2021Winner for The Man Booker Prize 2021.

Long-listed for ABIA International Book of the Year 2021Long-listed for ABIA International Book of the Year 2021.

Author Information

Douglas Stuart was born and raised in Glasgow. After graduating from the Royal College of Art, he moved to New York, where he began a career in design. Shuggie Bain is his debut novel. It has been shortlisted for the Booker Prize, the Kirkus Prize and the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. It has also been longlisted for the National Book Award for Fiction. His short stories have appeared in the New Yorker and his essay on Gender, Anxiety and Class was published by Lit Hub.

BUY THE BOOK

  • Booktopia
  • Dymocks
  • Readings
  • QBD Books
  • The Nile
  • Find a bookshop
  • Amazon
  • Big W
  • Harry Hartog
  • Pan Macmillan

OTHER BOOKS BY THE AUTHOR

SEE ALL WORKS BY THE AUTHOR >