Advanced Search

Sistersong

by Lucy Holland

Trade Paperback $32.99

$32.99

$32.99

In a magical ancient Britain, bards sing a story of treachery, love and death. This is that story. For fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Lucy Holland's Sistersong retells the folk ballad ‘The Twa Sisters.'

'A beautiful reimagining of an old British folklore ballad, Sistersong weaves a captivating spell of myth and magic' – Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

King Cador’s children inherit a land abandoned by the Romans, torn by warring tribes. Riva can cure others, but can’t heal her own scars. Keyne battles to be seen as the king’s son, although born a daughter. And Sinne dreams of love, longing for adventure.

All three fear a life of confinement within the walls of the hold, their people’s last bastion of strength against the invading Saxons. However, change comes on the day ash falls from the sky – bringing Myrdhin, meddler and magician. The siblings discover the power that lies within them and the land. But fate also brings Tristan, a warrior whose secrets will tear them apart.

Riva, Keyne and Sinne become entangled in a web of treachery and heartbreak, and must fight to forge their own paths. It’s a story that will shape the destiny of Britain.

Sistersong is a powerfully moving story, perfect for readers who loved Naomi Novik’s Uprooted and Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale.

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781529039047
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pub Date: 27/04/2021
  • Category: BCE To C 500 CE
    Fiction & related items / Myth & legend told as fiction
    England
    Fiction & related items / Historical fiction
    Fiction & related items / Fantasy
  • Imprint: Macmillan
  • Pages: 400
  • Price: $32.99

In a magical ancient Britain, bards sing a story of treachery, love and death. This is that story. For fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Lucy Holland's Sistersong retells the folk ballad ‘The Twa Sisters.'

'A beautiful reimagining of an old British folklore ballad, Sistersong weaves a captivating spell of myth and magic' – Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

King Cador’s children inherit a land abandoned by the Romans, torn by warring tribes. Riva can cure others, but can’t heal her own scars. Keyne battles to be seen as the king’s son, although born a daughter. And Sinne dreams of love, longing for adventure.

All three fear a life of confinement within the walls of the hold, their people’s last bastion of strength against the invading Saxons. However, change comes on the day ash falls from the sky – bringing Myrdhin, meddler and magician. The siblings discover the power that lies within them and the land. But fate also brings Tristan, a warrior whose secrets will tear them apart.

Riva, Keyne and Sinne become entangled in a web of treachery and heartbreak, and must fight to forge their own paths. It’s a story that will shape the destiny of Britain.

Sistersong is a powerfully moving story, perfect for readers who loved Naomi Novik’s Uprooted and Katherine Arden’s The Bear and the Nightingale.

Author Information

Lucy Holland works for Waterstones and has a BA in English & Creative Writing from Royal Holloway. She went on to complete an MA in Creative Writing under Andrew Motion in 2010. Lucy lives in Devon and co-hosts Breaking the Glass Slipper, an award-winning feminist podcast. She is the author of Sistersong.

BUY THE BOOK

  • Booktopia
  • Dymocks
  • Readings
  • QBD Books
  • The Nile
  • Find a bookshop
  • Amazon
  • Big W
  • Harry Hartog
  • Pan Macmillan

OTHER BOOKS BY THE AUTHOR

SEE ALL WORKS BY THE AUTHOR >