Advanced Search

ABIA shortlist announced!

April 11, 2019

Bridge of Clay


Hive: The Vault Book 1

The 104-Storey Treehouse


We’re delighted to share that these wonderful authors and their books have been shortlisted for the Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIAs) 2019. The ABIA judging panel this year said it was tough to decide a shortlist in all 12 book categories,

Winners for the ABIAs are determined through a process of selection, first by the ABIA Academy of more than 200 industry professionals, and then a shortlist and winners are chosen by our Judging Panels. The winners of these prestigious awards are announced at the publishing industry’s night of nights on Thursday, 2 May at a ceremony in Sydney.

The authors making the ABIAs shortlist are:

Markus Zusak, Bridge of Clay for the Literary Fiction Book of the Year

Behrouz Boochani, No Friend But the Mountains for the General Non-Fiction Book of the Year

A.J. Betts, Hive, for the Book of the Year for Older Children (ages 13+)

Hetty McKinnon, Family, for the Illustrated Book of the Year

Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton, The 104-Storey Treehouse, for the Book of the Year for Younger Children (ages 7-12)

We could not be prouder.