Advanced Search

$36.99

Decades after the Vietnam War and Toby’s life-changing summer with Zachary Beaver, Toby’s daughter Rylee is at a crossroads—her best friend Twig has started pushing her away just as Joe, a new kid from New York, settles into their small town of Antler. Rylee befriends Joe and learns that Joe's father was a first responder on 9/11. The two unlikely friends soon embark on a project to find Zachary Beaver and hopefully reconnect him with Rylee's father almost thirty years later.

This beautiful novel is a tribute to friendships—old and new—and explores the challenges of rebuilding what may seem lost or destroyed. For readers of Wishtree and See You in the Cosmos.

Christy Ottaviano Books

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781250234100
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pub Date: 13/04/2021
  • Category: Children's, Teenage & educational / General fiction (Children's / Teenage)
    Teenage & Young Adult Fiction / Young Adult
  • Imprint: Henry Holt (BYR)
  • Pages: 320
  • Price: $36.99

Decades after the Vietnam War and Toby’s life-changing summer with Zachary Beaver, Toby’s daughter Rylee is at a crossroads—her best friend Twig has started pushing her away just as Joe, a new kid from New York, settles into their small town of Antler. Rylee befriends Joe and learns that Joe's father was a first responder on 9/11. The two unlikely friends soon embark on a project to find Zachary Beaver and hopefully reconnect him with Rylee's father almost thirty years later.

This beautiful novel is a tribute to friendships—old and new—and explores the challenges of rebuilding what may seem lost or destroyed. For readers of Wishtree and See You in the Cosmos.

Christy Ottaviano Books

Author Information

Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of many award-winning novels for young adults and children, including The Lost Boy’s Gift, Blooming at the Texas Sunrise Motel, Dear Hank Williams, and When Zachary Beaver Came to Town, winner of a National Book Award for Young People's Literature. Born in Pensacola, Florida, Holt has lived all over the US and the world. She now lives in Texas with her family. kimberlywillisholt.com