Advanced Search

Race to the Bottom of the Earth: Surviving Antarctica

$39.99

$39.99

In 1910, Captain Robert Scott prepared his crew for a trip that no one had ever completed: a journey to the South Pole. He vowed to get there any way he could, even if it meant looking death in the eye. Then, not long before he set out, another intrepid explorer, Roald Amundsen, set his sights on the same goal. Suddenly two teams were vying to be the first to make history—what was to be an expedition had become a perilous race.

In 2018, Captain Louis Rudd readied himself for a similarly grueling task: the first solo crossing of treacherous Antarctica. But little did he know that athlete Colin O’Brady was training for the same trek—and he was determined to beat Louis to the finish line. For fans of Michael Tougias’ The Finest Hours and Deborah Heiligman’s Torpedoed, this gripping account of two history-making moments of exploration and competition is perfect for budding scientists, survivalists, and thrill seekers.

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781250257802
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pub Date: 30/03/2021
  • Category: Children's, Teenage & educational / Science & technology: general interest (Children's / Teenage)
    Junior Fiction / Junior
  • Imprint: Henry Holt (BYR)
  • Pages: 272
  • Price: $39.99

In 1910, Captain Robert Scott prepared his crew for a trip that no one had ever completed: a journey to the South Pole. He vowed to get there any way he could, even if it meant looking death in the eye. Then, not long before he set out, another intrepid explorer, Roald Amundsen, set his sights on the same goal. Suddenly two teams were vying to be the first to make history—what was to be an expedition had become a perilous race.

In 2018, Captain Louis Rudd readied himself for a similarly grueling task: the first solo crossing of treacherous Antarctica. But little did he know that athlete Colin O’Brady was training for the same trek—and he was determined to beat Louis to the finish line. For fans of Michael Tougias’ The Finest Hours and Deborah Heiligman’s Torpedoed, this gripping account of two history-making moments of exploration and competition is perfect for budding scientists, survivalists, and thrill seekers.

Author Information

Rebecca E. F. Barone holds a bachelor of arts in English from Bucknell University as well as a degree in mechanical engineering. Her technical projects include the development of crash test dummies, and her short-form STEM writing has been published in the award-winning Muse magazine. As a recipient of a National Science Foundation PAGES scholarship, she has served underrepresented populations through mentorship and has continued to mentor in the kidlit arena with her participation in the #kidsneedmentors program. She enjoys rock climbing, marathon running, and creating amazing (sometimes tasty!) messes with her husband, son, and daughter.

rebeccaefbarone.com

OTHER BOOKS BY THE AUTHOR

SEE ALL WORKS BY THE AUTHOR >