loading...

$18.99

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781743516904
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pub Date: 01/03/2014
  • Category: Fiction & related items / Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
  • Imprint: Pan Australia
  • Pages: 408
  • Price: $18.99

Gang of Four is a story of four very different journeys and a celebration of women in the prime of life.

"Every woman needs her gang of four" Mary Moody

"A delightful story of the joy of stepping outside your comfort zone" Australian Women's Weekly

She had a husband, children and grandchildren who loved her, a beautiful home, enough money. What sort of person was she to feel so overwhelmed with gloom and resentment on Christmas morning?

They have been close friends for almost two decades, supporting each other through personal and professional crises-parents dying, children leaving home, house moves, job changes, political activism, diets and really bad haircuts.

Now the 'gang of four', Isabel, Sally, Robin and Grace, are all fifty-something, successful ...and restless.
It is Isabel who makes the first move, taking a year away from her family to follow in her mother's footsteps across Europe. Soon Sally is on her way to San Francisco, to come face to face with a guilty secret. Robin, in the wake of a clandestine relationship, heads for isolation in the country. And Grace? Well, Grace would never go away for an entire year, but, lonely in the others' absence, she thinks she might take a short holiday in England. Once there, she bumps into someone she hardly knows - herself.

PRAISE FOR LIZ BYRSKI

"Her plots and characters get stronger with each book" The Sydney Morning Herald

"Liz Byrski has a guaranteed cheer squad for her novels which champion...women taking charge of their life and growing old creatively" Daily Telegraph

Fans of Monica McInerney, Liane Moriarty and Joanna Trollope will love Liz Byrski.

Author Information

Liz Byrski is the author of seven novels and a number of non-fiction books, the latest of which is Getting On: Some Thoughts on Women and Ageing. She has worked as a freelance journalist, a broadcaster with ABC Radio and an advisor to a minister in the West Australian Government. Liz has a PhD in writing from Curtin University where she teaches professional and creative writing.

AUTHOR EVENTS

23 February 2019

Join Liz Byrski at Perth Festival's Food for Thought high tea as she discusses her latest novel, A Month of Sundays. Tickets from $81 - $90

3:30 PM

Club Restaurant, The University Club
Enterance 1 Hackett Drive Crawley WA 6009 Website



SEE MORE EVENTS>