loading...

$40.00

Book Information

  • ISBN: 9781760785468
  • Format: Audiobook
  • Pub Date: 01/03/2019
  • Category: Fiction & related items / General
    Fiction & related items / Crime & mystery
    Fiction & related items / Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
  • Imprint: Macmillan Australia Audio
  • Price: $40.00

"Hepworth turns up the tension in her latest Australian-set domestic suspense novel. A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, makes this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott" Booklist (starred review)

Someone once told me that you have two families in your life - the one you are born into and the one you choose. Yes, you may get to choose your partner, but you don't choose your mother-in-law. The cackling mercenaries of fate determine it all.

From the moment Lucy met Diana, she was kept at arm's length. Diana was exquisitely polite, but Lucy knew, even after marrying Oliver, that they'd never have the closeness she'd been hoping for.

But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice, the matriarch of a loving family. Lucy had wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was ten years ago. Now, Diana has been found dead, leaving a suicide note. But the autopsy reveals evidence of suffocation. And everyone in the family is hiding something...

From the bestselling author of The Family Next Door comes a new page-turner about that trickiest of relationships.


PRAISE FOR SALLY HEPWORTH

'Sally Hepworth writes compelling, compassionate novels with characters you come to know and love. She is one of my favourite Australian writers.' Liane Moriarty

'Hepworth's novels are perfect for lovers of Big Little Lies.' Library journal (starred review)

Author Information

Sally Hepworth has lived around the world, spending extended periods in Singapore, the U.K. and Canada, where she worked in event management and Human Resources. While on maternity leave, Sally finally fulfilled a lifelong dream to write, the result of which was Love Like the French, published in Germany in 2014. While pregnant with her second child, Sally wrote The Secrets of Midwives, published worldwide in English, as well as in France, Italy, Germany, the Czech Republic and Slovakia in 2015. A novel about three generations of midwives, The Secrets of Midwives asks readers what makes a mother and what role biology plays in the making and binding of a family.

The Secrets of Midwives has been labelled "enchanting" by The Herald Sun and "smart and engaging" by Publisher's Weekly and New York Times bestselling authors Liane Moriarty and Emily Giffin have praised Sally's debut English language novel as "women's fiction at its finest" and "totally absorbing".

Sally has continued writing about women's issues and family ties in The Things We Keep (published February 2016), The Mother's Promise (March 2017) and The Family Next Door (March 2018).

Sally lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband and three children.

AUTHOR EVENTS

5 March 2019

Join Sally Hepworth at Barolo Trattoria for the Dymocks Camberwell Book Club, as she chats about her brand new novel, The Mother-in-Law.

6:30 PM

Barolo Trattoria Function Room
885 Burke Road Camberwell VIC 3124 Website



SEE MORE EVENTS>